The Arkansas Department of Health recognizes 39 hospitals, 48 ambulance services, two regional teams, and two individuals for excellence in stroke patient care

Fort Smith, Ark. – According to the state officials, the hospital awards are based on stroke care performance as documented in the Arkansas Stroke Registry for July 2022 and June 2023 patient discharges.

State officials also announced that they are given to hospitals based on the following measures: defect-free stroke care, documentation of stroke bands, and door-to-CT times.

Defect-free care is an aggregated metric based on the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association Coverdell metrics to ensure stroke patients receive appropriate care.

Stroke bands allow for improved data collection for quality improvement, and faster door-to-CT times improve the likelihood of better patient outcomes.

To qualify for this award, a hospital must be designated through ADH or a national accreditation body.

The EMS awards are based on documentation of stroke bands and pre-notification. When hospital teams are alerted that a suspected stroke patient is en route by EMS, this helps expedite the patient’s care upon arrival.

Regional recognition is awarded to those geographical areas in Arkansas in which healthcare teams demonstrate the highest level of performance for pre-notification, stroke band documentation, and door-to-CT times.

The Transition of Care award honors organizations or individuals for the exceptional work they did with stroke patients and their families as part of the transition of care for the patient.

Related Articles

Latest Articles