Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame honors nine new members

Arkansas women’s track and field coach Lance Harter was one of nine new members of the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame to be honored at the Statehouse Convention Center on Friday night. Now in his 31st season leading the Arkansas women’s track and field program, he is undoubtedly the most successful coach in SEC women’s cross country and track and field history.

Pulaski Academy’s Kevin Kelley was also inducted. Behind a consistently powerful offense and “no punt” attitude, Kelley’s Bruins have won state titles in 2003, 2008, 2011, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019 and 2021.

Tim Horton, a team captain in 1989, was honored, as well. He has made multiple stops in a long and successful coaching career.

“Iso Joe,” a Little Rock Central graduate, was one of four former Razorbacks to be honored, although Johnson could not attend. Women’s golfer Lisa Cornwell currently serves as an analyst on the Golf Channel and could not make it. Neither could second baseman Johnny Ray, who played 10 years in the majors. He was the 1982 rookie of the year.

Former UAPB basketball player Jesse Mason, former Conway basketball player Lawson Pilgrim, and 38-year veteran high school basketball coach Billy Joe Murray were also inducted.

Related Articles

Latest Articles